Guidelines for oral presentations

Oral presentations must last a maximum of 15 minutes, followed by 5 minutes of questions / answers with the audience.
Presenters are invited to upload their presentation, next to the registration desk, the day before their presentation and on Wednesday morning if they are to present on Wednesday.

The available software versions are MS-Powerpoint 2016, LibreOffice Impress 6.0, Adobe Reader DC 2018; they are installed on computers with MS-Windows-10.

The accepted formats are OOXML (pptx, ppt accepted too but, please, prefer pptx over obsolete ppt), OpenDocument (odp) and PDF. Each speaker is invited to check the conformity of his presentation with at least one of the available softwares.

Slide format : 16:9
Resolution : at least 1280 x 800

Do not forget to embed all used images and objects in your presentation. Do not use linked object in your presentation because it will not be found when you will have moved your presentation to the conference PC. If you really need to link an external object like a video, use a relative path to the same folder as the presentation and make the external file as small as possible.

The name of the presentation file must include the last name of the first author of the manuscript.

Guidelines for posters

Posters must be printed as vertical A0 format.
Vertical plates of 2mx1m, and tape + blu-tack will be available on site for fixing your poster.
The poster session will take place on Wednesday afternoon (see the program page).
You are invited to install your poster in the main hall as soon as possible, starting Tuesday evening.

Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award

The Stephen E. Coleman Best Paper Award is given biennially for the best paper submitted to the River Flow Conference Series and authored or co-authored by a young researcher [*]. This award was established by the IAHR Fluvial Hydraulics Committee in September 2014, in memory of Prof. Stephen E. Coleman (1966–2012). Prof. Coleman is remembered for his outstanding and original contributions to fundamental and applied research in the fields of river mechanics and environmental fluid mechanics and his devotion and enthusiasm in the training of the new generations of hydraulic engineers and scientists.

  1. The paper must be authored or co-authored by a young researcher (as defined below).
  2. The LOC of River Flow Conference will identify the papers to be considered for the award.
  3. The selection of the best paper will be done by an Award Committee composed by members of the Leadership Team of the IAHR FHC. The members of the Award Committee will be selected by the Chair and Vice Chair of the IAHR FHC.
  4. The award will be given during the closure ceremony of River Flow conference.


[*] For these purposes, a young researcher is defined as a M.Sc. or Ph.D. student or a researcher who has  completed his/her Ph.D. no more than three years before the date of the conference in which the award will be given.